The Milwaukee Repertory Theater’s “A Christmas Carol” Begins November 29


CONTACT:          Frances White, Director of Media Relations

414-290-5362 or

SOCIAL MEDIA: @MilwRep | #AChristmasCarolMKE






November 3, 2016- (Milwaukee, WI) The Milwaukee holiday tradition of over 40 years continues with Milwaukee Repertory Theater’s brand new world premiere adaptation of A Christmas Carol, featuring the same traditional story, written and directed by Artistic Director Mark Clements.  This immersive take on the holiday favorite features the production team that realized recent hits like Dreamgirls and Ragtime, and features brand new musical orchestrations by Associate Artist John Tanner. The festive, family-friendly, ghost story takes place on the largest and most complicated set in Milwaukee Rep’s history designed by Associate Artist Todd Edward Ivins with lush new costumes by Alexander B. Tecoma, masterful lighting design by Associate Artist Jeff Nellis, thoughtful sound design by Barry G. Funderburg and lively stage movement by Milwaukee Ballet’s Michael Pink.


Previously announced Milwaukee Rep favorite Jonathan Wainwright (Of Mice of Men, A Christmas Carol as Mr. Cratchit), will make his debut as Scrooge becoming the 12th actor in Milwaukee Rep history to portray one of Dicken’s most recognizable characters.  He’ll be joined by many familiar faces including Associate Artist Jonathan Gillard Daly (Man of La Mancha, Of Mice and Men) as Mr. Fezziwig, Associate Artist Angela Iannone (Lombardi) as Mrs. Fezziwig, Associate Artist Deborah Staples (Harvey, The Amish Project) as Ghost of Christmas Past, Chike Johnson (Of Mice and Men) as Ghost of Christmas Present, Jonathan Smoots (A Christmas Carol) as Marley,  Associate Artist Reese Madigan (Five Presidents) as Bob Cratchit, Raná Roman (Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike at Milwaukee Chamber Theater) as Mrs. Cratchit, Michael Doherty (Ragtime) as Fred, Jessie Hooker (Ragtime) as Belle, Luigi Sottile (A Christmas Carol) as Young Scrooge and Edward Owczarski as Tiny Tim.


A Christmas Carol youth ensemble includes Teddy Anagnostopoulos from Menomonee Falls, Baylee Bates from Franklin, Ashley Bock from Muskego, Jack Burns from Wauwatosa, Liam Jeninga from Delavan, Emilio Jones from Milwaukee, Tighe Leszczynski from Mequon, Kia Liebenstein from Milwaukee, Carlos Meyers from Milwaukee, Chantae Miller from Waukesha, Alayna Perry from Milwaukee, Georgina Pink from Shorewood, Gabe Smith from Fox Point, Ethan Sprague from Wauwatosa, Tory Trettin from Whitefish Bay, Chance Wall from Pewaukee, Anthony Wells from Milwaukee.


A Christmas Carol is proudly presented by Wells Fargo with media sponsorship from Milwaukee Journal Sentinel and equipment sponsored by Studio Gear.  A Christmas Carol runs at The Pabst Theater from November 29 – December 24.  Tickets can be purchased online, by calling The Rep’s Ticket Office at 414-224-9490 or in-person at 108 East Wells Street in downtown Milwaukee.

Sign Up for Arts Beat

Get involved with local arts news. Sign up for our FREE e-newsletter and you'll always have local performing arts information at your fingertips.