Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra Announces 2017 Merit Scholarship Winners

Milwaukee, WI – Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra (MYSO) is delighted to announce its 2017 merit scholarship winners, presented at the organization’s final concerts this spring.


2017 Dean Potokar Service and Leadership Award

In memory of Dean Potokar, a tireless and valuable member of the MYSO Board of Directors, this award recognizes graduating seniors in our most advanced ensembles who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership, professionalism, positive attitude and contributions to the organization. The 2017 Potokar Award recipients are:

  • Violinist Daniella Brusubardis, home schooled, of Dousman;
  • Clarinetist Marissa Davies, Whitefish Bay High School, of Whitefish Bay;
  • Cellist Malik Johnson, Pius XI High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Steel pan player Marina Johnstone, Nicolet High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Violinist John Kerns, Muskego High School, of Muskego;
  • Violist Emily McCabe, West Bend East High School, of West Bend;
  • Violinist Stephanie Pham, Sussex Hamilton High School, of Menomonee Falls;
  • Bassist Olivia Reyes, Cudahy High School, of Cudahy;
  • Harpist Clarissa Schilling, home schooled, of East Troy;
  • Violist Tyler Stepp, Nathan Hale High School, of West Allis;
  • Steel pan player Suzanne Weathersby, Milwaukee School of Languages, of Milwaukee; and
  • Violinist Amber Wicklund, Wisconsin Virtual Learning, of Germantown.

2017 Margarete Harvey Scholarship

Celebrating the involvement and support of Mrs. Margarete Harvey, this scholarship recognizes Progressions graduates completing their junior or senior year and celebrates their achievements and commitment.

The 2017 Margarete Harvey Scholarship recipients are:

  • Cello and steel plan player Veronica Dobbs, Dominican High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Violinist Tyja Hall, Milwaukee Lutheran High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Cellist Malik Johnson, Pius XI High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Violinist Tatyana Lynn, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School, of Wauwatosa;
  • Violinist Kyoko McNeail, Rufus King International High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Violinist Laura Rodriguez, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School, of Milwaukee;
  • Cellist Camara Stampley, Rufus King International High School, of Milwaukee; and
  • Violinist Sarai Van Leer, Dominican High School, of Milwaukee.

Carrie Rondeau Memorial Concerto Scholarship

Established to memorialize longtime Music For Youth/MYSO member Carrie Rondeau, this scholarship was awarded to the winner of the 2017 Senior Symphony Concerto Competition, Daniella Brusubardis, of Dousman.
Tony Lucas Award

The Tony Lucas Award, named in honor of Tony Lucas, a dedicated volunteer with MYSO for more than two decades, recognizes Mr. Lucas’s unwavering dedication and commitment to the organization. It is given to one outstanding second year Progressions student who receives a full scholarship for MYSO 2017-18 membership, private lessons, and use of an instrument. This year’s recipient is double bassist Lauren Gooden, of Milwaukee. Lauren is a student at Golda Meir School.


About Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra

Since 1956, Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra (MYSO) continues to nurture, challenge, and inspire generations of students through music, profoundly changing lives and our community for the better. MYSO has grown from one orchestra and 30 students to become, by several measures, the largest and one of the most respected youth orchestra programs in the nation.  We serve 6,000 students during the academic school year who come from more than 200 schools in over 14 counties throughout southeastern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. In addition to classical music, MYSO’s repertoire includes jazz, steel pan and percussion ensembles.


# # #


Contact:  Linda Edelstein, Executive Director

Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra

Phone:  414.267.2990

Sign Up for Arts Beat

Get involved with local arts news. Sign up for our FREE e-newsletter and you'll always have local performing arts information at your fingertips.